Reading leads to more adventures, new opportunities, and deeper horizons in your life, which you discover through the growth of new knowledge.

 

Unknown-4.jpeg

 

As a reader, I’m sure you have come across books that have caused you to grow. I, myself, have read many of these books, especially in the last 6 months. I have put together for all you readers a list of some of my recent reads that have grown me as a reader. Let’s get into it!

unknown-5

  1. Monster by Walter Dean Myers. I read Monster around late September, and have thought about it numerous times since. I feel that this book grew me as a reader, because it took me outside of my reading comfort zone. It is about a boy, Steven Harmon, who has been accused (falsely or not, you’ll have to read it to find out) of a crime, and the story follows him through his trial, while having flashbacks to reveal whether or whether not he committed the crime. One very interesting aspect of this book is that it is written in script form. It taught me to come out of my shell when picking my next novel, and expanded my reading boundaries.7119eceb444c322e9fdddbcf75935be6
  2. Out of my Mind by Sharon M. Draper. I first heard about this book from a friend in 4th grade. I kept pushing it off until I finally gave it a chance. I fell in love with it almost instantly, and I have read it about 4 times since then, the most recent being about 4 weeks ago. It is a very emotional piece, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. It is about a girl, Melody, with Cerebral Palsy. She is incredibly smart, but has never spoken a word in her life. Even when no one else believes in her, she remains hopeful and happy, and she goes on to do great things. This book changed the way I looked at books, people, animals, you name it. I learned to have an open mind, an open heart, and be less judgemental towards others.unknown-2
  3. The Giver by Lois Lowry. I’m sure you have already read this one, since most readers have, but I still had to mention it. It shows us readers that, if we aren’t careful, our surroundings can change us. In The Giver, all the people have lost the spark that gives them individuality. They live in a “perfect” society where things like jobs and families are chosen for you, and no one knows of any other style of life. This book kept me hooked, teaching me to go for some books on the popular side, because they are probably popular for a reason. It also taught me to never lose my individuality and always be myself. I continuously have this book on my mind.quotes-from-great-gatsby-book-literary-emporium-the-great-gatsby-4.jpeg
  4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I technically read this one 7 months ago, but it is totally worth mentioning. This piece of writing taught me that not all older books are hard to understand (as previously thought), and I very much enjoyed it. It expanded my vocabulary, deepened my understanding of the English language and its use in older writings, and broadened my taste in books. It also taught me about life in the 20’s.

 

Similar books:

  1. The Catcher in The Rye
  2. Tender is the Night
  3. Gathering Blue
  4. Number the Stars
  5. Divergent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo references

  • Photo 1- from the key word suggest. http://keywordsuggest.org/gallery/629701.html
  • Phot0 2- Like success- http://likesuccess.com/author/walter-dean-myers
  • Photo 3- Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/Baybayj11/out-of-my-mind/
  • Photo 4- Guidance http://www.picrevise.com/?image=https://img0.etsystatic.com/021/0/7361151/il_340x270.474804168_jwo0.jpg&title=Quotes%20From%20The%20Great%20Gatsby:%20Items%20Similar%20To%20The%20Great%20Gatsby&tag=Quotes%20From%20The%20Great%20Gatsby:%20Items%20Similar%20To%20The%20Great%20Gatsby
  • Photo 5- Quotes gram: http://quotesgram.com/the-great-gatsby-book-quotes/

 

